Buccaneers schedule analysis

April, 14, 2009
4/14/09
8:41
PM ET

Posted by ESPN.com's Pat Yasinskas

Breakdown: Raheem Morris will make his coaching debut on a very big stage, a home game against the Dallas Cowboys. That's no easy task, but at least the game is at home. Things don't get much easier after that and the Bucs have the league's fifth toughest schedule, based on the 2008 winning percentage of opponents.

But the Bucs have a chance to stay in the NFC South race even if Morris' system takes hold slowly. They don't face an NFC South opponent until Carolina in mid-October and their other five division games come in the second half of the season.

They close with a pair of division games, at New Orleans and home with Atlanta.

Here's the complete NFL schedule.

Complaint department: The NFL bases its decisions on prime-time games largely on the appeal of teams. That means the Bucs don't have much appeal in the NFL's eyes. They don't have a single prime-time game. Every other NFC South team plays in prime time at least twice.

Stay tuned: We don't know which home game it will take place at, but the Bucs reportedly are going to open a ring of honor (Lee Roy Selmon's got to go in first) and wear there throw-back (orange and white) jerseys. We soon will find out which home game gets the nod.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers regular-season schedule (All times Eastern)

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 13 DALLAS COWBOYS 1:00 p.m.
Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 20 at Buffalo Bills 4:05 p.m.
Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 27 N.Y. GIANTS 1:00 p.m.
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 4 at Washington Redskins 1:00 p.m.
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 11 at Philadelphia Eagles  1:00 p.m.
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 18 CAROLINA PANTHERS 1:00 p.m.
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 25 NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS 1:00 p.m.
Week 8: BYE WEEK
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 8 GREEN BAY PACKERS 1:00 p.m.
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 15 at Miami Dolphins 1:00 p.m.
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 22 NEW ORLEANS SAINTS 1:00 p.m.
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 29 at Atlanta Falcons 1:00 p.m.
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 6 at Carolina 1:00 p.m.
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 13 N.Y. JETS 1:00 p.m.
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 20 at Seattle Seahawks 4:15 p.m.
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 27 at New Orleans Saints 1:00 p.m.
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 3 ATLANTA FALCONS 1:00 p.m.

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Insider

NFL SCOREBOARD

Sunday, 2/2
WEEKLY LEADERS