Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFL Nation [Print without images]

Tuesday, April 20, 2010
Green Bay Packers schedule analysis

By Kevin Seifert

Breakdown: Think the Packers aren’t marketable? The NFL put them in its premier time slot -- on Sunday night -- three times. They also appear on ESPN’s "Monday Night Football" once and have a national slot on opening weekend, taking on Philadelphia on Sept. 12 at 4:15 p.m. ET.

I look at the Packers’ opening seven weeks and think they should expect nothing less than a 5-2 start, especially given the way they played the second half of last season. They should be favored to win home games against Buffalo, Detroit and Miami. I like their chances to win at Washington and I’m guessing they’ll be fully primed for the Oct. 24 game against Minnesota.

Barring a collapse, 5-2 or 6-1 will be enough to put the Packers in excellent playoff position.

Complaint department: Coming out of their bye, the Packers will play four of five games on the road. In fact, their only home game between Nov. 8 and Dec. 25 will be Dec. 5 against San Francisco. That’s a long time to be away from Lambeau Field.

Interesting note courtesy of Packers public relations: The Packers’ Week 10 bye is the latest allowed under NFL rules and is the latest bye in franchise history. The Packers have more games before the bye (nine) than they do afterward (seven). Take that to the house.

Packers Regular Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 12, at Philadelphia, 4:15 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 19, Buffalo, 1:00 PM
Week 3: Monday, Sep. 27, at Chicago, 8:30 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 3, Detroit, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 10, at Washington, 1:00 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 17, Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 24, Minnesota, 8:20 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 31, at NY Jets, 1:00 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 7, Dallas, 8:20 PM
Week 10: BYE
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 21, at Minnesota, 1:00 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 28, at Atlanta, 1:00 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 5, San Francisco, 1:00 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 12, at Detroit, 1:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 19, at New England, 8:20 PM
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 26, NY Giants, 4:15 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 2, Chicago, 1:00 PM