Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFL Nation [Print without images]

Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Philadelphia Eagles schedule analysis

By Jeffri Chadiha

Breakdown: For a team that won the NFC East last season, the Philadelphia Eagles definitely received a nice break from the schedule-makers. Yes, Philadelphia does open the season with two road games (against the St. Louis Rams and Atlanta Falcons) before meeting the New York Giants at home. But they also get three straight contests against teams that didn’t make the playoffs before facing the Dallas Cowboys at home after the bye week. Don’t think that Eagles head coach Andy Reid isn’t grateful for that bit of good fortune.

Even the Eagles’ toughest games will come on their home turf. That’s where they’ll see the Chicago Bears, New England Patriots and New York Jets. Again, will somebody please explain that turn of events to me?

Complaint department: November is going to be the hardest month for Philadelphia. It opens with the Bears and Arizona Cardinals before traveling to face the Giants in New York. The Eagles return to host New England on Nov. 27. If the Eagles have any gripes about their schedule, they can air them then.

Welcome back: It won’t take much to hype the Eagles’ Sunday night game against the Falcons. We all know that Michael Vick's return to Atlanta will generate plenty of buzz from both supporters and haters alike. Even though that franchise has found another Pro Bowl quarterback in Matt Ryan -- while also making the playoffs in two of the three seasons since Vick’s involvement in a dog fighting scandal led to the team dumping him -- this game will be all about one thing: closure.

Eagles Regular-Season Schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 11, at St. Louis, 1:00 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 18, at Atlanta, 8:20 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 25, NY Giants, 1:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 2, San Francisco, 1:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 9, at Buffalo, 1:00 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 16, at Washington, 1:00 PM
Week 7: BYE
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 30, Dallas, 8:20 PM
Week 9: Monday, Nov. 7, Chicago, 8:30 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 13, Arizona, 1:00 PM
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 20, at NY Giants, 8:20 PM
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 27, New England, 4:15 PM
Week 13: Thursday, Dec. 1, at Seattle, 8:20 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 11, at Miami, 1:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 18, NY Jets, 4:15 PM
Week 16: Saturday, Dec. 24, at Dallas, 4:15 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 1, Washington, 1:00 PM