Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFL Nation [Print without images]

Tuesday, April 14, 2009
Raiders schedule analysis


Posted by ESPN.com's Bill Williamson

Breakdown: The Raiders may know where they stand in the AFC West early in the season. Oakland plays all three division foes in the first three weeks of the season.

Two of Oakland's first three games are at home; the Raiders open the season at home on a Monday night against San Diego, then travel to Kansas City before hosting Denver. The Raiders won their final two games of the 2008 season to finish 5-11.

The Raiders have two prime-time games: one against the Chargers to start the season and at Dallas on Thanksgiving Day.

Complaint department: The Raiders don't have much to complain about. They really have a manageable schedule. They open and close the season at home. The only complaint Oakland could have is it plays back-to-back road games three times this season, including dates at Dallas and Pittsburgh, but there is a 10-day break between the games.

No more Shanahan: The Raiders have had to love the turmoil in Denver as both Mike Shanahan and Jay Cutler have left Denver. Shanahan, who coached Oakland for 20 games in the late 1980s, torched Oakland. He was 21-7 against the Raiders in 14 seasons. When Oakland hosts Denver in Week 3 and plays at Denver at Week 15, it will be comforted to know Shanahan won't be on the opposing sideline.

Raiders regular-season schedule (All times Eastern)
Week 1: Monday, Sep. 14, SAN DIEGO, 8:30 p.m.
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 20, at Kansas City, 1 p.m.
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 27, DENVER, 4:15p
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 4, at Houston, 1 p.m.
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 11,at N.Y. Giants, 1 p.m.
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 18, PHILADELPHIA, 4:05 p.m.
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 25, N.Y. JETS, 4:05 p.m.
Week 8: Sunday, Nov. 1, at San Diego, 4:05 p.m.
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 8, BYE     
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 15, KANSAS CITY, 4:05 p.m.
Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 22, CINCINNATI, 4:15 p.m.
Week 12: Thursday, Nov. 26, at Dallas, 4:15 p.m.
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 6, at Pittsburgh, 1 p.m.
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 13, WASHINGTON, 4:05p
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 20, at Denver, 4:05 p.m.
Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 27, at Cleveland, 1 p.m.
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 3, BALTIMORE, 4:15 p.m.