Official word on disallowed goal

May, 30, 2012
5/30/12
10:49
PM ET
From the NHL's official release:

MEDIA UPDATE -- DISALLOWED GOAL

At 3:58 of the third period in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that New Jersey's Zach Parise directed the puck into the Los Angeles net with his glove. No goal New Jersey. According to NHL Rule 67.6, "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official.
When the puck enters the net on a clear deflection off a glove, the goal shall be allowed."

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?