Stanley Cup playoffs, by the numbers

With the Stanley Cup playoffs set to begin on Tuesday night, here is a by-the-numbers guide of things to keep an eye on:

2 –- Anaheim’s seed in the Western Conference. The Ducks were also a 2-seed in the 2007 playoffs, when they won their first (and only) Stanley Cup.

5 –- Seed of the team that won the Stanley Cup in the previous lockout-abbreviated season of 1994-95. The New Jersey Devils were the 5 seed in the East in 1995 when they won their first Stanley Cup, sweeping the Detroit Red Wings in the finals.

7 –- Number of Presidents’ Trophy winners to claim the Stanley Cup in the same season since the award was instituted for the 1985-86 season. The last team to pull off the Presidents’ Trophy-Stanley Cup double was the Detroit Red Wings in the 2007-08 campaign.

15 –- How many years it’s been since a Stanley Cup champion has repeated. The Red Wings did it in 1997 & 1998. The Los Angeles Kings are looking to repeat this postseason.

20 –- How many years it’s been since Canada has had a Stanley Cup champion. Montreal beat coach Barry Melrose and the Los Angeles Kings in 1993. Four Canadian teams -- Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto & Vancouver -- will try to end that drought this postseason.

22 -– Number of consecutive seasons the Detroit Red Wings have made the playoffs, the longest active streak in the four major pro sports. Detroit opens its quest for the Cup Tuesday against the Ducks in Anaheim.

46 –- The number of years since the Toronto Maple Leafs’ last Stanley Cup, the longest current drought. The Leafs won the final Cup of the Original Six era in May 1967, five months before the expansion debut of the team with the next longest drought, the St. Louis Blues (who have yet to win the Cup).

764 –- Number of career regular season games played by Blues defenseman Jay Bouwmeester, who will be appearing the playoffs for the 1st time. Only Olli Jokinen played more games (799) before making his 1st playoff appearance.

1928 –- The last time teams from Montreal and Ottawa met in the postseason before this year’s Canadiens-Senators series. The original Ottawa Senators lost to the now-defunct Montreal Maroons in a quarterfinals series that year.

1996 –- The last postseason before this year that featured all of the Original Six teams. None reached that year’s Stanley Cup finals, which saw the Colorado Avalanche sweep the Florida Panthers.