Kings' comeback one for the history books

Western Conference Finals

Kings 6, Blackhawks 2 (Series tied 1-1)

* Kings: 1st win in 8 all-time road playoff games at Blackhawks

* Blackhawks: 1st home loss in 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs; 3rd home loss in last 21 postseason games at United Center

* Jeff Carter (LA): postseason career-best 4 points; 2nd career playoff hat trick; scored all 3 goals in 3rd period -- 12th player in NHL postseason history with at least 3 goals in 3rd period, 3rd in last 20 years (ELIAS)

* Corey Crawford (CHI): allowed 3 G total in previous 3 games (allowed 5 tonight); allowed 11 G in previous 6 career playoff games vs Kings

FROM ELIAS SPORTS BUREAU: The Kings, who trailed 2–1 at the end of the second period, outscored the Blackhawks 5–0 in the third period and posted a 6–2 victory which ties the Western Conference finals at one win each for Los Angeles and Chicago. It was only the second time in NHL playoff history that a team won by a margin of four goals or more in a game in which it trailed entering the third period. The only other such playoff win was by the Bruins in Game Five of their first-round series against the Hartford Whalers in 1991. Trailing 1–0 going into the third period at Boston Garden, the Bruins scored six unanswered goals (including one by Ray Bourque and two by Cam Neely) and beat the Whalers, 6–1.

FROM ELIAS SPORTS BUREAU: Jeff Carter led the Kings’ third-period barrage by becoming first NHL player to score three goals in one period of a playoff game since Johan Franzen did so in the first period of the Red Wings’ 7–1 win in Game 4 of Detroit’s second-round series against the Sharks in 2010. Carter was the first NHL player to record a third-period hat trick in a playoff game since another Red Wing, Darren McCarty, scored three third-period goals against Colorado in Game 1 of the 2002 Western Conference finals. Before Carter, the only Kings player ever to notch a hat trick in one period of a playoff game was Tommy Williams in the third period of a game against the Blackhawks in 1974.




2014 Jeff Carter Kings

2002 Darren McCarty Red Wings<<

1994 Mark Messier Rangers<<