Sedin brothers share first-team honors

June, 22, 2011
Daniel and Henrik Sedin became the first brothers voted to the NHL First All-Star Team since Phil and Tony Esposito after the 1969-70 season.

The Sedins are joined on the team by Nicklas Lidstrom, who earned his 10th selection to the team.

Alex Ovechkin was named to the Second All-Star Team after capturing first-team honors in each of his first five seasons.

The three finalists for the Calder trophy, Logan Couture, Michael Grabner and Jeff Skinner, headlined the All-Rookie Team.

Voting for both teams was conducted at the end of the regular season by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

NHL First All-Star Team
G - Tim Thomas, Boston
D - Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
D - Shea Weber, Nashville
C - Henrik Sedin, Vancouver
RW - Corey Perry, Anaheim
LW - Daniel Sedin, Vancouver

NHL Second All-Star Team
G - Pekka Rinne, Nashville
D - Zdeno Chara, Boston
D - Lubomir Visnovsky, Anaheim
C - Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay
RW - Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
LW - Alex Ovechkin, Washington

NHL All-Rookie Team
G - Corey Crawford, Chicago
D - John Carlson, Washington
D - P.K. Subban, Montreal
F - Logan Couture, San Jose
F - Michael Grabner, N.Y. Islanders
F - Jeff Skinner, Carolina



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?