Print and Go Back ESPN.com: Cross Checks [Print without images]

Friday, January 18, 2013
NHL release: Dates of interest


From the official NHL release:

DATES OF INTEREST FOR THE 2012-13 NHL SEASON
(all times Eastern)
Saturday, Jan. 19 – Regular season opens.
Saturday, Jan. 19 -- NBC season launch (Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings’ banner
raising, 3 p.m.; regional coverage of Chicago at Los Angeles, 3:25 p.m. or Pittsburgh at
Philadelphia, 3:35 p.m.).
Saturday, Jan. 19 -- Launch for CBC's Hockey Night in Canada's 60th season (Ottawa at
Winnipeg, 3 p.m.; select moments from the Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings’ banner
raising, 3-3:30 p.m.; Scotiabank Hockey Tonight, 6:30 p.m.; Toronto at Montreal, 7 p.m.;
Anaheim at Vancouver, 10 p.m.).
Saturday, Jan. 19 -- NHL Network-US season launch (NY Rangers at Boston, 7 p.m.).
Sunday, Jan. 20 -- NBC Sports Network season launch (Phoenix at Chicago, 10 p.m.).
Tuesday, Jan. 22 -- TSN season launch (Winnipeg at Washington, 7 p.m.; San Jose at
Edmonton, 10 p.m.).
Wednesday, Jan. 23 – NBC Sports Network's 'Rivalry Wednesdays' begin (Boston at NY
Rangers, 7:30 p.m.).
Friday, Feb. 1 -- Commencement of Hockey Is For Everyone month.
Saturday, Feb. 2 -- Dallas' Ray Whitney returns to Phoenix (Stars at Coyotes, 8 p.m.).
Saturday, Feb. 9 -- Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada, from Peterborough, Ontario. (CBC
tripleheader: Winnipeg at Ottawa or Edmonton at Detroit, 2 p.m.; Toronto at Montreal, 7 p.m.;
Calgary at Vancouver, 10 p.m.).
Friday, Feb. 15 -- USA Hockey Hockey Weekend Across America. Wear Your Favorite Jersey Day.
Saturday, Feb. 16 -- USA Hockey Try Hockey For Free day.
Sunday, Feb. 17 -- USA Hockey Celebrate Local Hockey Heroes day.
Sunday, Feb. 17 -- NBC Hockey Day in America tripleheader (doubleheader on NBC, evening
game on NBCSN -- NHL Live, NBC at noon; Pittsburgh at Buffalo, NBC at 12:30 p.m.; Los Angeles
at Chicago, NBC at 3:30 p.m.; Washington at NY Rangers, NBCSN at 6 p.m.).
Sunday, Feb. 17 -- Hockey City Classic: Notre Dame vs. Miami (Ohio) and Minnesota vs.
Wisconsin. Soldier Field, Chicago.
Saturday, March 9 -- Minnesota's Ryan Suter returns to Nashville (Wild at Predators, 8 p.m.).
Wednesday, April 3 -- NHL trade deadline (3 p.m.).
Thursday, April 11 -- NCAA Frozen Four begins. CONSOL Energy Center, Pittsburgh.
Saturday, April 27 -- Carolina's Jordan Staal returns to Pittsburgh (Hurricanes at Penguins, 7 p.m.).
Saturday, April 27 -- Regular season concludes.
Monday, April 29 -- NHL Draft Drawing.
Tuesday, April 30 -- Stanley Cup Playoffs begin.
Friday, May 17 -- MasterCard Memorial Cup begins. Saskatoon (through May 26).
May 27 to June 1 -- NHL Draft Combine, Toronto.
Saturday, June 1 -- Deadline for signing Unsigned Draft Choices.
Friday, June 28 -- Last possible date for Stanley Cup Finals