Irish rack up more AA honors

December, 17, 2012
Manti Te'o can call himself a unanimous All-American.

The senior linebacker made the Football Writers Association of America All-America team, and he has now made all five All-America teams that the NCAA recognizes to determine unanimous distinction, including: the American Football Coaches Association, Sporting News, Walter Camp and Associated Press.

Te'o was also named an All-American last week.

Te'o is the 33rd unanimous All-American in Irish history. Receivers Golden Tate (2009) and Jeff Samardzija (2005) were the most recent Notre Dame players to earn unanimous All-America status, and cornerback Shane Walton (2002) was the most recent defensive Irish player to do it.

Te'o was also recently named to a first-team All-American by Phil Steele, along with tight end Tyler Eifert. Stephon Tuitt earned second-team status, while Braxston Cave and Louis Nix earned third and Zack Martin notched fourth.

Matt Fortuna | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Irish Flips Top TE Jones, Back In Top 10
National recruiting coordinator Craig Haubert discusses the impact No. 1 tight end Alize Jones, a former UCLA commit, will have at Notre Dame.