Kelly not a Bear Bryant award finalist

December, 19, 2012
Riddle me this: Brian Kelly is not one of six finalists for the Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

OK, maybe the fact he is facing Bryant's old team, Alabama, next month has something to do with it. (But probably not.)

Kelly was left off the list that features Ohio State's Urban Meyer, Penn State's Bill O'Brien, Stanford's David Shaw, Kansas State's Bill Snyder, Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin and Vanderbilt's James Franklin.

Yes, James Franklin. The James Franklin who coaches an unranked Commodores team and voted Notre Dame No. 4 in his final Top 25 ballot this season.

Kelly has won this year's Eddie Robinson and Home Depot coach of the year awards, becoming the first coach to win the latter award twice (Cincinnati, 2009). He is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Liberty Mutual coach of the year awards.

Matt Fortuna | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Freshman Quarterbacks A Growing Trend?
Ted Miller looks at how freshman quarterbacks have become more common in college football, and how these "rookie" college players could factor in at several College Football Playoff contenders.