Twelve Irish earn independent honors

Michael Floyd, Manti Te'o and George Atkinson III highlighted the FBS independent honors Friday, earning hardware and all-independent team recognition.

Floyd was named the independent offensive player of the year, Te'o the independent defensive player of the year and Atkinson the independent special teams player of the year.

Floyd, Cierre Wood, Tyler Eifert, Zack Martin and Trevor Robinson made the all-independent offensive team. Te'o, Aaron Lynch, Louis Nix, Robert Blanton and Harrison Smith made the all-independent defensive team.

Atkinson and David Ruffer made the all-independent special teams unit.

Tommy Rees, Jonas Gray, Taylor Dever, Darius Fleming, Jamoris Slaughter and Gary Gray earned honorable mention.