Notre Dame's best individual seasons

June, 4, 2012
"College Football Live" is taking a look this week at the top individual seasons of the past 50 years. Notre Dame has seen its share of great ones in the past half-century. Here's a look at some of the best.

[+] EnlargeTim Brown
AP PhotoNotre Dame receiver Tim Brown won the Heisman Trophy in 1987.
1. Tim Brown, 1987: Notre Dame's most recent Heisman Trophy winner notched 846 receiving yards and three touchdowns; rushed for 144 yards and a score; averaged nearly 20 yards per kick return; and brought back three punts for touchdowns. His 167.9 all-purpose yards per game were sixth-most in the nation.

2. John Huarte, 1964: Huarte set 12 school records en route to winning the Heisman Trophy, completing better than 55 percent of his passes for 2,062 yards, 16 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. He added three more scores on the ground, and his 2,069 yards of total offense were third in the nation in 1964.

3. Raghib Ismail, 1990: The Walter Camp Player of the Year rushed for 537 yards and three touchdowns; caught 32 passes for 699 yards and two touchdowns; averaged 24 yards per kick return -- one of which was returned for a touchdown -- and brought back 13 punts for 151 yards. The Rocket finished second in Heisman Trophy voting behind BYU's Ty Detmer.

Matt Fortuna | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Irish Flips Top TE Jones, Back In Top 10
National recruiting coordinator Craig Haubert discusses the impact No. 1 tight end Alize Jones, a former UCLA commit, will have at Notre Dame.