Print and Go Back Notre Dame Football [Print without images]

Thursday, November 15, 2012
Te'o one of five Nagurski finalists

By Matt Fortuna

Manti Te'o is one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, given to the nation's best defensive player.

Te'o is joined by South Carolina tackle Jadeveon Clowney, Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones, Alabama cornerback Dee Milliner and Florida State end Bjoern Werner as finalists.

Corner Shane Walton (2002) is the only other Irish player to be named a finalist.

The winner will be announced Dec. 3 and presented the trophy at a gala banquet in Charlotte, N.C., with Brian Kelly, coincidentally, giving the keynote address. The NFL Network will broadcast the event.