Notre Dame Football: Renaldo Wynn

Irish shut out of Hall

May, 7, 2013
Notre Dame was shut out of the College Football Hall of Fame this year, one year after David Casper became the 44th former Irish player to be named to the Hall.

And that may be the point.

No one can argue that credentials of the trio of Irish players who were among the 77 candidates for the Hall this year — Bob Crable, Raghib Ismail and Aaron Taylor — but in recent years, the Hall has chosen not to select a player from the same school in consecutive years, as colleague Ivan Maisel notes.
The Hall doesn't automatically pick the top available players or the most recognizable names. The National Football Foundation, in order to honor players on both sides of the ball and players across the nation, attempts to include in every class at least one player from every position group and one player from each of the major conferences. In recent years, the Hall has chosen not to select a player from the same school in consecutive years.

Throw in the fact that only 12 players and two coaches make it every year, and it sheds some light on how Crable, Ismail and Taylor could get left out.

It was not all bad news Tuesday for Notre Dame and Halls of Fame, however. Three former players and one former assistant will be honored by the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame.

Former Heisman Trophy winner John Lattner (Fenwick), former linebacker Pete Bercich (Providence Catholic), former defensive lineman Renaldo Wynn (De La Salle) and late assistant Jim Johnson (Proviso East) will all be honored Sept. 18 at the Hawthorne Race Course in Cicero, Ill.


Freshman Quarterbacks A Growing Trend?
Ted Miller looks at how freshman quarterbacks have become more common in college football, and how these "rookie" college players could factor in at several College Football Playoff contenders.