Eifert, Te'o named Walter Camp All-America

Juniors Tyler Eifert and Manti Te'o were named to the Walter Camp All-American team Thursday, the former on the first team and the latter on the second.

Eifert's 57 catches this year led all FBS tight ends, and his 713 receiving yards were second. He is Notre Dame's 185th first-team all-American and the Irish's first tight end selected to the first team since Derek Brown in 1991. He is is the sixth Notre Dame tight end since 1973 to earn first team all-America honors, joining Dave Casper (1973), Ken MacAfee (1975-77), Tony Hunter (1982), Mark Bavaro (1984) and Brown.

Te'o, meanwhile, leads the Irish in tackles (115), tackles for loss (13) and sacks (4.5). He is the second Irish linebacker to earn Walter Camp All-America honors since 1991 (Courtney Watson, 2002). Te'o was named to the Capital One Academic All-America second team earlier Thursday.