U.S. reveals mountain bike team for worlds

August, 8, 2011
USA Cycling announced the 51 athletes who will compete at the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships.

Fourteen riders will compete in the elite cross country races, including Todd Wells, who won the elite men's cross country race at nationals. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, Adam Craig and Sam Schultz were also automatic nominations because they are ranked in the top 50 of the UCI Individual World Rankings.

On the women's side, Georgia Gould, Katie Compton, Lea Davison, Heather Irmiger and Mary McConneloug received automatic nominations. Gould won the cross country race at nationals, and Davison tops the 2011 USA Cycling Pro Mountain Bike Cross Country standings.

Aaron Gwin, who won four of the five World Cup downhill races, will lead the 10 elite American downhill riders. He will be joined by the leader of the 2011 USA Cycling Pro Mountain Bike Gravity Tour, Cody Warren. Jacqueline Harmony and Jill Kintner will lead the women's downhill contingent.

Worlds will be held in Champery, Switzerland, from Aug. 29 to Sept. 4.

Elite Men Cross Country
Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Cannondale Factory Racing)
Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)
Adam Craig (Bend, Ore./Rabobank-Giant)
Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)
Spencer Paxson (Seattle, Wash./Kona Bicycles)
Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek)
Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized)

Elite Women Cross Country
Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./ RaboBank-Giant)
Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Specialized)
Judy Freeman (Brighton, Colo./Kenda-Felt MTB)
Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./Luna Pro Team)
Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)
Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)
Krista Park (Madison, S.D./Cannondale-No Tubes)

U23 Men Cross Country
Stephen Ettinger (Cashmere, Wash./BMC MTB Development)
Russell Finsterwald (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)
Jack Hinkens (Eden Prairie, Minn./BMC MTB Development)
Kerry Werner (Banner Elk, N.C./BMC MTB Development)

U23 Women Cross Country
Jill Behlen (Boulder, Colo./University of Wyoming)
Kaila Hart (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College)

Junior Men Cross Country
Richard Cypress Gorry (Payson, Ariz./AZ Devo)
Howard Grotts (Durango, Colo./Durango Devo)
Keegan Swenson (Park City, Utah/Whole Athlete-Specialized)
Casey Williams (Big Bear City, Calif.)

Junior Women Cross Country
Grace Alexander (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS)
AliciaRose Pastore (Durango, Colo./Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory DEVO Sweet Elite)

Elite Men Downhill
Logan Binggeli (Saint George, Utah/KHS Bicycles)
Aaron Gwin (Temecula, Calif./Trek)
Curtis Keene (Fremont, Calif.)
Duncan Riffle (Santa Barbara, Calif./Giant MTB Team)
Mitch Ropelato (Ogden, Utah/SPS North America)
Luke Strobel (Issaquah, Wash./MS Evil)
Cody Warren (Alpine, Calif./DRD X-Fusion Intense)

Elite Women Downhill
Jacqueline Harmony (Sedona, Ariz./All Mountain Cyclery-Vixen Racing)
Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./RedBull-Transition Racing)
Joanna Petterson (Jericho, Vt.)

Junior Men Downhill
Nate Furbee (Los Osos, Calif.)
Austin Hackett Klaube (Dillon, Colo.)
Kiran MacKinnon (Aromas, Calif.)
Neko Mulally (Reading, Pa./Trek)
Trevor Trinkino (Evergreen, Colo./Yeti RPM)
Austin Warren (Alpine, Calif./DRD X-Fusion Intense)
Christian Wright (League City, Texas/Team Spincycle)

Junior Women Downhill
Lauren Daney (Stafford, Va./Specialized-GROM Racing)

Men Four Cross
Blake Carney (Camarillo, Calif.)
Lear Miller (Sedona, Ariz.)
Erik Nelson (Gilbert, Ariz.)

Women Four Cross
Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz./KHS Bicycles)
Joanna Petterson (Jericho, Vt.)
Neven Steinmetz (Boulder, Colo./Ellsworth-Smile Generation)

Trial Rider
Ryder Okumura (Durango, Colo./Durango Devo)



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?