Seven Pac-10 LBs on Butkus Award watch list

Seven Pac-10 players are on the 51-man -- get it? 51 -- watch list for the Butkus Award, which is given annually to the nation's best linebacker.

Those players are:

Akeem Ayers, UCLA

Vontaze Burfict, Arizona State

Mason Foster, Washington

Chris Galippo, USC

Thomas Keiser, Stanford

Casey Matthews, Oregon

Mike Mohamed, California

You can view the entire list here.

An independent Butkus Award selection committee, headed by Pro Football Weekly’s Hub Arkush and comprised of 51 experts, including professional, college and high school scouts, and prominent sports journalists, will conduct the selection process.

The Butkus Award collegiate and high school semi-finalists will be named October 21, at a Butkus Charity Fight Night at Soldier Field in Chicago. Finalists will be named November 23, and winners will be notified on or before December 8.