Awards updates: Pac-12 rocks the punt

November, 2, 2011
Some awards updates...

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, Oregon running back LaMichael James, USC quarterback Matt Barkley, USC wide receiver Robert Woods and Washington running back Chris Polk are among 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, presented to the collegiate player of the year.

Here's the list:

Player Class Pos College
Matt Barkley Jr QB University of Southern California
Justin Blackmon Jr WR Oklahoma State University
Tajh Boyd So QB Clemson University
Ryan Broyles Sr WR University of Oklahoma
Robert Griffin, III Jr QB Baylor University
LaMichael James Jr RB University of Oregon
Landry Jones Jr QB University of Oklahoma
Case Keenum Sr QB University of Houston
Andrew Luck Sr QB Stanford University
Kellen Moore Sr QB Boise State University
Chris Polk Jr RB University of Washington
Trent Richardson Jr RB University of Alabama
Brandon Weeden Sr QB Oklahoma State University
Russell Wilson Sr QB University of Wisconsin
David Wilson Jr RB Virginia Tech University
Robert Woods So WR University of Southern California

Arizona State LB Vontaze Burfict and Stanford LB Chase Thomas are among the 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Chuck Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the defensive player of the year.

Here's the list.

Player Class Pos College
Mark Barron Sr DB University of Alabama
Arthur Brown Jr LB Kansas State University
Vontaze Burfict Jr LB Arizona State University
Morris Claiborne Jr DB Lousiana State University
Lavonte David Sr LB University of Nebraska
Dont'a Hightower Jr LB University of Alabama
Melvin Ingram Sr DL University of South Carolina
Luke Kuechly Jr LB Boston College
Tyrann Mathieu So DB Lousiana State University
Whitney Mercilus Jr DL Unviersity of Illinois
Sean Spence Sr LB University of Miami
Devon Still Sr DL Penn State University
Manti Te'o Jr LB University of Notre Dame
Chase Thomas Sr LB Stanford University
Courtney Upshaw Sr LB University of Alabama
Jerel Worthy Jr DL Michigan State University

USC safety T.J. McDonald was the only Pac-12 player named a Thorpe Award semifinalist this week. The award is given annually to the nation's best defensive back.

Here's the list.

Thorpe Award Semifinalists
Antonio Allen, South Carolina
David Amerson, North Carolina State
Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
Morris Claiborne, LSU
Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
Nigel Malone, Kansas State
Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
T.J. McDonald, USC
Chase Minnifield, Virginia

Seven of the 54 punters on the 2011 Ray Guy Award watch list hail from the Pac-12: California's Bryan Anger, Arizona's Kyle Dugandzic, Oregon State's Johnny Hekker, Arizona State's Josh Hubner, UCLA's Jeff Locke, USC's Kyle Negret and Oregon's Jackson Rice.

So the conference has that going for it.

The list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists to be announced on Nov. 11.

Here's the watch list.

2011 Ray Guy Award Candidates
Bryan Anger - California
Ben Armer - Western Michigan
Will Atterberry - North Texas
Trey Barrow - Missouri
Tyler Bennett - Utah State
Peter Boehme - Southern Mississippi
Dylan Breeding - Arkansas
Ben Buchanan - Ohio State
Drew Butler - Georgia
Ian Campbell - UTEP
Tyler Campbell - Ole Miss
Steven Clark - Auburn
Bobby Cowan - Idaho
Ryan Doerr - Kansas State
Ron Doherty - Kansas
Kyle Dugandzic - Arizona
Anthony Fera - Penn State
Will Goggans - Troy
Mickey Groody - Florida Atlantic
Eric Guthrie - Iowa
Johnny Hekker - Oregon State
Tom Hornsey - Memphis
Jimmy Howell - Virginia
Josh Hubner - Arizona State
Jay Karutz - Eastern Michigan
Anson Kelton - TCU
Alex King - Duke
Pete Kontodiakos - Colorado State
Scott Kovanda - Ball State
Chase Lansford - UNLV
Richie Leone - Houston
Jeff Locke - UCLA
Brett Maher - Nebraska
Kyle Martens - Rice
Austin McCoy - Wyoming
Brandon McManus - Temple
Kyle Negrete - USC
Brad Nortman - Wisconsin
Pat O’Donnell - Cincinnati
Shawn Powell - Florida State
Ryan Quigley - Boston College
Jackson Rice - Oregon
Matt Rinehart - Kent State
Brian Schmiedebusch - Bowling Green
Quinn Sharp - Oklahoma State
Brian Stahovich - San Diego State
Riley Stephenson - BYU
Ryan Tydlacka - Kentucky
Kirby Van Der Kamp - Iowa State
Cole Wagner - Connecticut
Cody Webster - Purdue
Kase Whitehead - Marshall
Brad Wing - LSU
Dawson Zimmerman - Clemson



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Thursday, 10/2
Saturday, 10/4