WSU's Nwachukwu finalist for sportsmanship award

Washington State safety Chima Nwachukwu is one of 10 finalists for sixth-annual ARA Sportsmanship Award, given to a Division I football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.

To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor and "be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community."

Previous winners include Kansas State tight end Jeron Mastrud (2009), Northwestern receiver Eric Peterman (2008), Washington State quarterback Alex Brink (2007); Rutgers fullback Brian Leonard (2006) and Memphis running back DeAngelo Williams (2005).

Full disclosure: I am a part of the selection committee.

The 2010 finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

• Sam Acho, University of Texas

• Corbin Bryant, Northwestern University

• Jordan Gafford, Miami University

• Scott Lewis, St. Francis University

Chima Nwachukwu, Washington State University

• Christian Ponder, Florida State

• Tyler Replogle, Indiana University

• Dominik Riley, University of Memphis

• Chris Stewart, University of Notre Dame

• John Stokes, Vanderbilt University