Another Coach of Year honor for Kelly

A "consensus" All-American is a player who earns first-team honors on three of the five All-American teams recognized by the NCAA.

So Oregon coach Chip Kelly, by the same standards, is now a "consensus" Coach of the Year, after winning the honor from the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Kelly is the first Oregon coach and just the third from the Pac-10 to earn the award (Arizona State’s Frank Kush in 1975 and Bruce Snyder in 1996), which is voted on by FBS coaches and sports information directors.

Kelly previously won Coach of the Year honors from the Football Writers Association of America and The Sporting News.

Under Kelly’s direction, the second-ranked and Pac-10 champion Ducks (12-0) earned their first BCS Bowl Championship Game appearance and will meet No. 1 Auburn (13-0) on Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz. It is Oregon’s first 12-win season in its history.

Kelly, along with members of the 2010 Walter Camp All-America team, will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet on Jan. 15 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.