Print and Go Back Pac-12 [Print without images]

Thursday, September 30, 2010
Five Pac-10 players up for 'Academic Heisman'

By staff

Five Pac-10 players are among the 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly the Draddy Trophy), which is known to many as the "Academic Heisman."

Those Players are:

Mike Mohamed, California
Jordan Holmes, Oregon
Owen Marecic, Stanford
Daniel Rees, UCLA
Chima Nwachukwu, Washington State

Semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

A list of 15 finalists will be announced Oct. 28, and the winner will be named Dec. 7 in New York.

Former California All-America center Alex Mack won the award in 2008.