Print and Go Back Pac-12 [Print without images]

Thursday, January 17, 2013
Considering the college coaching churn

By Ted Miller

When Jeff Tedford was fired after 11 seasons at California, the Pac-12 lost its coach with the longest continuous tenure.

And when Chip Kelly opted to leave Oregon for the Philadelphia Eagles on Wednesday, it meant the Pac-12 would have its seventh new coach since the end of the 2011 season.

Mike Riley is now the Pac-12's longest-tenured coach. He's been Oregon State's coach for 12 total seasons over two tenures, including 10 consecutive seasons. Kyle Whittingham has been at Utah for eight years.

After them? Washington's Steve Sarkisian, whose four years in Seattle give him the third spot.

Yes, college football coaches make good money. No, it's not the job you want if you're into security.

Here's the list.
Pac-12 Coaching tenure (seasons, first year)

Mike Riley, Oregon State (12, 1997 & 2003)

Kyle Whittingham, Utah (8, 2005)

Steve Sarkisian, Washington (4, 2009)

Lane Kiffin, USC, (3, 2010)

David Shaw, Stanford (2, 2011)

Rich Rodriguez, Arizona (1, 2012)

Mike Leach, Washington State (1, 2012)

Todd Graham, Arizona State (1, 2012)

Jim Mora, UCLA (1, 2012)

Sonny Dykes, California (0, 2013)

Mike MacIntyre, Colorado (0, 2013)

NEW COACH, Oregon (0, 2013)

Of course, the Pac-12 is far from alone. Here's an interesting look at coaching tenures before Kelly's became the 31st job out of 125 to turn over in the past year.

Some interesting notes: