Pac-12: Bednarik Award

Stephen Paea is Bednarik semifinalist

November, 8, 2010
Oregon State defensive tackle Stephen Paea hasn't put up big numbers this year, but his unsung efforts against constant double-teams are still earning him recognition.

Paea has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 16th annual Bednarik Award, presented to the nation’s top defensive player by the Maxwell Football Club. He is the only player from the Pac-10 on the list.

Paea was the 2009 co-recipient of the Pac-10 Conference’s Morris Trophy for the league’s top defensive lineman. The native of Tonga was a 2009 All-Pac-10 First Team selection and earned honorable mention in 2008. He currently has career totals of 105 total tackles, 25 tackles-for-loss and 12 quarterback sacks.

You can see the entire list of semifinalists here.

The winners of the 74th Maxwell Award and the 16th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 22, and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

Bednarik, Maxwell watch lists

August, 10, 2010
The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) today announced the watch lists for the 74th annual Maxwell Award and 16th annual Chuck Bednarik Award.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the NFL Hall of Fame.

Nine Pac-10 players are on the 45-man Bednarik Award watch list:

Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA
Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State
Jurrell Casey,DT, USC
Mason Foster, LB, Washington
Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona
Kenny Rowe, DE, Oregon
Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State
Rahim Moore, FS, UCLA
Mike Mohamed, LB, California

Nine Pac-10 players made the 45-man Maxwell Award watch list:

Matt Barkley, QB, USC
Allen Bradford, RB, USC
LaMichael James, RB, Oregon
Jake Locker, QB, Washington
Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford
Chris Polk, RB, Washington
Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Oregon State
James Rodgers, WR, Oregon State
Shane Vereen, RB, California

Semifinalists for the awards will be announced on Nov. 8, and three finalists for each award will be announced Nov. 22. The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 9.

Mays and Prince are Bednarik Award semifinalists

November, 4, 2009
Posted by's Ted Miller

Two Pac-10 players are among the 16 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which is given annually to the top defensive player in college football: USC safety Taylor Mays and UCLA defensive tackle Brian Price.

Here's the complete list.

Pat Angerer, University of Iowa, LB, SR
Eric Berry, University of Tennessee, DB, JR
Navorro Bowman, Penn State University, LB, JR
Terrence Cody, University of Alabama, DL, SR
Rennie Curran, University of Georgia, LB, JR
Jerry Hughes, Texas Christian University, DL, SR
Greg Jones, Michigan State University, LB, JR
Taylor Mays, University of Southern California, DB, SR
Rolando McClain, University of Alabama, LB, JR
Gerald McCoy, University of Oklahoma, DL, SR
Von Miller, Texas A&M, DL, JR
Eric Norwood, University of South Carolina, LB, SR
Brian Price, UCLA, DL, JR
O'Brien Schofield, University of Wisconsin, DL, SR
Brandon Spikes, University of Florida, LB, SR
Ndamukong Suh, University of Nebraska, DL, SR

Nine Pac-10 players on Bednarik Award watch list

August, 13, 2009

Posted by's Ted Miller

Nine Pac-10 players are included on the 55-man watch list for the 2009 Chuck Bednarik Award, presented annually to the nation's top defensive player.

  • Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA
  • Dexter Davis, DE, Arizona State
  • Keaton Kristick, LB, Oregon State
  • Taylor Mays, FS, USC
  • Brian Price, DT, UCLA
  • Daniel Te'o-Nesheim, DE, Washington
  • Syd'Quan Thompson, CB, California
  • Will Tukuafu, DE, Oregon
  • Alterraun Verner, CB, UCLA

A bit surprised Cal DE Tyson Alualu and Arizona CB Devin Ross are not on the list after earning second-team All-Pac-10 honors in 2008.