Pac-12: Bill Enyart

As a sophomore, Bill Enyart started at linebacker for Oregon State in 1966. Coach Dee Andros made him a fullback for his junior year, and the rest, as of Tuesday, is Hall of Fame history.

The Oregon State teams of the late 1960s lived in the shadow of their more prominent Pac-8 brethren in Los Angeles. UCLA quarterback Gary Beban won the 1967 Heisman Trophy while USC won the national title. Trojan tailback O.J. Simpson won the 1968 Heisman. The Beavers, meanwhile, finished second in the conference each season, in no small part because of the pounding delivered by “Earthquake” Enyart.

The only game that USC lost in that national championship season of 1967 was played in Corvallis, where Oregon State won, 3-0. While Simpson ran for 188 yards on 33 carries, Enyart finished with 135 yards in 24 carries.

Those Beavers, known as “Giant Killers,” would beat four top-10 teams before Enyart finished his college career in 1968. Oregon State went 21-8-1 during Enyart’s three seasons. However, outside the borders of Oregon, Enyart played in the shadow of the glamorous halfback at USC.

As seniors, Enyart rushed for 1,304 yards and 17 touchdowns, while Simpson rushed for 1,709 yards and 15 touchdowns. Both made All-America, but Simpson added the Heisman Trophy.

The Buffalo Bills selected Simpson in the first round of the 1969 NFL draft. They took Enyart in the second. Enyart played three seasons for Buffalo and Oakland. He joins Terry Baker, the 1962 Heisman winner, as the only Oregon State players in the Hall of Fame.

Pac-10 well-represented on Hall of Fame ballot

March, 3, 2009

Posted by's Ted Miller

The National Football Foundation announced Tuesday the 76 players and six coaches who comprise the 2009 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, and the list includes 14 former Pac-10 players and three former coaches.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced live on ESPNEWS at a noon (EST) news conference on April 30. They will be inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8, 2009 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years; be retired from coaching and over the age of 70 (no waiting period); or over the age of 75 (active coaches eligible).

In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

Of the 4.6 million individuals who have played college football, only 846 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. From the coaching ranks, 182 have been elected.

For all 76 names, see this link.

The Pac-10 candidates are:

Steve Bartkowski, California, quarterback (1972-74)
Bob Berry, Oregon, quarterback (1962-64)
Bob Breunig*, Arizona State, linebacker (1972-74)
Chuck Cecil, Arizona, defensive back (1984-87)
Randy Cross, UCLA, offensive guard (1973-75)
Sam Cunningham, Southern California, running back (1970-72)
Bill Enyart, Oregon State, fullback (1966-68)
Ken Margerum*, Stanford, wide receiver (1977-80)
Marlin McKeever, Southern California, tight end (1958-60)
Ken Norton, Jr., UCLA, linebacker (1984-87)
Jonathan Ogden*, UCLA, offensive tackle (1992-95)
Ron Rivera, California, linebacker (1980-83)
Pat Tillman, Arizona State, linebacker (1994-97)
Clarence Williams, Washington State, running back (1962-64)

First-time ballot members are indicated with an asterisk.


William "Lone Star" Dietz, Washington State (1915-17)

John Robinson, Southern California (1976-82, 1993-97)

Darryl Rogers, Arizona State (1980-84)