Pac-12: Eddie Robinson

Oregon's Kelly is national Coach of the year

December, 6, 2010
Chip Kelly's head coaching career has begun fairly well. In his first season, he led the Ducks to the Rose Bowl. In his second, he guided them to the national title game opposite Auburn.

And now Kelly has been named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award by the Football Writers Association of America.

Kelly was a finalist for the award last year,when he was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year. He's 22-3 in two years in Eugene, including a 17-1 record in Pac-10 play.

Kelly is the second Oregon head coach to receive the award named for Grambling’s legendary coach, joining 1994 winner Rich Brooks.

The other finalists for the award were Gene Chizik (Auburn) -- who Kelly will face on Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz., -- Bret Bielema (Wisconsin), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State), Mike Gundy (Oklahoma State), Jim Harbaugh (Stanford), Gary Patterson (TCU) and Chris Petersen (Boise State).

Kelly also has been named named regional co-coach of the year along with Stanford’s Jim Harbaugh by the American Football Coaches Association. The AFCA selects its national coach of the year following the bowl season.

Kelly, Harbaugh COY finalists

November, 23, 2010
The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, has announced eight finalists for the 2010 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, and two are from the Pac-10: Oregon's Chip Kelly and Stanford's Jim Harbaugh.

The other finalists are: Wisconsin's Bret Bielema, Auburn's Gene Chizik, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, TCU's Gary Patterson and Boise State's Chris Petersen.

The winner will be revealed on Dec. 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach in the history of college football. The FWAA has presented a national coach of the year award since 1957 and named the award in Robinson's honor in 1997.

Robinson, who passed away on April 3, 2007, won 70.7 percent of his games during his illustrious career. Robinson's teams won or tied for 17 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) championships after joining the league in 1959. His Tigers claimed nine Black College Football Championships during his career spent all at the same school.

Kelly a finalist for national coach of the year

December, 10, 2009
It's been a heck of a first season for Oregon's Chip Kelly.

Already named the Pac-10 coach of the year, Kelly is one of seven finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

The other six finalists are Texas' Mack Brown, Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly, Alabama's Nick Saban, TCU's Gary Patterson and Boise State's Chris Petersen.

The award is voted on by the Football Writers Association of America and will be announced at a reception on Jan. 5 in Newport Beach, Calif.