Five Pac-10 players semifinalists for 'Academic Heisman'

Posted by ESPN.com's Ted Miller

Five Pac-10 players are among 154 semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), which is commonly known as the "Academic Heisman."

The Pac-10 semifinalists are: Arizona State linebacker Mike Nixon, Oregon State offensive guard Greg Peat, UCLA tight end Logan Paulsen, USC offensive guard Jeff Byers and Washington State center Kenny Alfred.

Conference offensive line coaches would want to note that three of the five are O-linemen.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. Renamed this fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The NFF Awards Committee will select and announce up to 15 finalists on Oct. 29. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2009 NFF National Scholar- Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The winner will be announced live at the NFF's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening

See the complete list here.