Pac-12: Matt Ryan

Unitas Award releases 25-man watch list

September, 28, 2011
Here's a consolation prize for Oregon State QB Ryan Katz, who recently lost his starting job: He nonetheless made the first cut on the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award's new 25-player watch list.

Stanford's Andrew Luck and Arizona's Nick Foles are also on the list. It's curious that Oregon's Darron Thomas, second-team All-Pac-10 in 2010, isn't.

Candidates must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with their class. Previous winners include Colt McCoy, Matt Ryan, Brady Quinn, and both Peyton and Eli Manning.

The 2011 winner will be presented with his award Dec. 9 in Baltimore, Md.

The list of this year’s top 25 candidates includes:

Is Luck the next Matt Ryan?

November, 20, 2009
You Stanford fans might enjoy this.

Here's Todd McShay's first line:

The more I watch of Stanford QB Andrew Luck this season the more flashbacks I have to Matt Ryan's days at Boston College. There, I said it.

McShay takes a thorough and detailed measure of Luck and, obviously, comes away impressed.

Consider the Pac-10 quarterback roster heading into 2010: Luck, Jake Locker (maybe), Matt Barkley, Nick Foles, Jeremiah Masoli, Kevin Prince and Kevin Riley, not to mention some promising youngsters at Arizona State, Oregon State and Washington State.

There's a lot of potential there -- for national honors and high NFL draft picks.

Suffice it to say, the Pac-10 blog won't be asking where have all the quarterbacks gone again before the 2010 preseason.