Pac-12: Maxwell Award

Luck, James are Maxwell semifinalists

November, 9, 2010
Stanford QB Andrew Luck and Oregon RB LaMichael James have been selected as two of the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the national player of the year.

You can see the complete list here.

The winners of the 74th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 22 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

Bednarik, Maxwell watch lists

August, 10, 2010
The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) today announced the watch lists for the 74th annual Maxwell Award and 16th annual Chuck Bednarik Award.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the NFL Hall of Fame.

Nine Pac-10 players are on the 45-man Bednarik Award watch list:

Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA
Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State
Jurrell Casey,DT, USC
Mason Foster, LB, Washington
Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona
Kenny Rowe, DE, Oregon
Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State
Rahim Moore, FS, UCLA
Mike Mohamed, LB, California

Nine Pac-10 players made the 45-man Maxwell Award watch list:

Matt Barkley, QB, USC
Allen Bradford, RB, USC
LaMichael James, RB, Oregon
Jake Locker, QB, Washington
Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford
Chris Polk, RB, Washington
Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Oregon State
James Rodgers, WR, Oregon State
Shane Vereen, RB, California

Semifinalists for the awards will be announced on Nov. 8, and three finalists for each award will be announced Nov. 22. The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 9.

Three Pac-10 players are Maxwell Award semifinalists

November, 4, 2009
Posted by's Ted Miller

Three Pac-10 players are among the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the nation's best player: California running back Jahvid Best, Stanford running back Toby Gerhart and Oregon State running back Jacquizz Rodgers.

Florida's Tim Tebow won the award the previous two years.

The panel voting for the Maxwell Award includes Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Here's the complete list of semifinalists:
  • Jahvid Best, University of California, RB, JR
  • Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, QB, JR
  • Noel Devine, West Virginia University, RB, JR
  • Toby Gerhart, Stanford University, RB, SR
  • Mark Ingram, University of Alabama, RB, SOPH
  • Case Keenum, University of Houston, QB, JR
  • Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan University, QB, SR
  • Dion Lewis, University of Pittsburgh, RB, FR
  • Ryan Mathews, Fresno State University, RB, JR
  • Colt McCoy, University of Texas, QB, SR
  • Kellen Moore, Boise State University, QB, SOPH
  • Christian Ponder, Florida State University, QB, JR
  • Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State University, RB, SOPH
  • Jordan Shipley, University of Texas, WR, SR
  • Golden Tate, Notre Dame, WR, JR
  • Tim Tebow, University of Florida, QB, SR