Pac-12: Rimington Award

Pac-12 on two more watch lists

July, 10, 2012
The flow of college football award "Watch lists" continues as the Rimington Award and John Mackey Award lists were announced. Both had a solid Pac-12 presence.

The Rimington Award goes to the nation's best center. The Mackey goes to the nation's best tight end.

Five conference centers are on the Rimington list:
I would have included Arizona's Kyle Quinn.

And here are the three Pac-12 tight ends on the Mackey list:
USC's Randall Telfer probably should have been included, as should Stanford's Zach Ertz.

Six Pac-10 centers on Rimington watch list

August, 26, 2010
There are lots of good centers in the Pac-10: See six being named to the 37-man watch list for the Rimington Award, which is given annually to the best one.

You can see the entire list here.

The Pac-10 players are:

Colin Baxter, Arizona
Chase Beeler, Stanford
Jordan Holmes, Oregon
Alex Linnenkohl, Oregon State
Kai Maiava, UCLA
Kristofer O'Dowd, USC

Obviously, Maiava, who broke his ankle during a scrimmage on Saturday, is probably not going to win the award.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet Jan. 15 at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb.