Pac-12: Steve Bartkowski

Steve Bartkowski, owner of one of the great arms in college football history, spent much of his early career at California struggling in the shadows. First, he shared the starting job with Vince Ferragamo for two years. Then, in 1973, he suffered through a miserable season as the starter.

But in 1974 he put it all together.

Bartkowski earned consensus All-American honors and finished 10th in the Heisman Trophy vote after leading the nation in passing with 2,580 yards with 12 touchdowns and seven interceptions. The Bears finished 7-3-1 as Bartkowski, despite a shoulder injury, four times topped 300 yards passing.

Bartkowski then became the top overall pick in the 1975 draft, going to the Atlanta Falcons. He still is the only Golden Bear to earn that honor. He played for the Falcons from 1975-1985 and then one season for the Los Angeles Rams (1986).

He earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors in 1975 but knee injuries bogged down his early career. He and the Falcons bounced back in the early 1980s. He led the NFL in touchdown passes in 1980 with 31 and was selected for the Pro Bowl in both 1980 and 1981. He led the Falcons to their first three playoff appearances in 1978, 1980 and 1982. The Falcons won the NFC West Division in 1980, going 12-4 in the regular season.

Bartkowski continues to be the Falcons all-time leader in passing yards with 23,470. His No. 10 jersey has been retired by the franchise.

Before knee injuries slowed him down, Bartkowski was known as an exceptional all-around athlete. He also was an All-American first baseman for the Bears baseball team in 1973.

Another claim to fame: He was the first client of sports agent Leigh Steinberg.

Pac-10 well-represented on Hall of Fame ballot

March, 3, 2009

Posted by's Ted Miller

The National Football Foundation announced Tuesday the 76 players and six coaches who comprise the 2009 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, and the list includes 14 former Pac-10 players and three former coaches.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced live on ESPNEWS at a noon (EST) news conference on April 30. They will be inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8, 2009 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years; be retired from coaching and over the age of 70 (no waiting period); or over the age of 75 (active coaches eligible).

In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

Of the 4.6 million individuals who have played college football, only 846 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. From the coaching ranks, 182 have been elected.

For all 76 names, see this link.

The Pac-10 candidates are:

Steve Bartkowski, California, quarterback (1972-74)
Bob Berry, Oregon, quarterback (1962-64)
Bob Breunig*, Arizona State, linebacker (1972-74)
Chuck Cecil, Arizona, defensive back (1984-87)
Randy Cross, UCLA, offensive guard (1973-75)
Sam Cunningham, Southern California, running back (1970-72)
Bill Enyart, Oregon State, fullback (1966-68)
Ken Margerum*, Stanford, wide receiver (1977-80)
Marlin McKeever, Southern California, tight end (1958-60)
Ken Norton, Jr., UCLA, linebacker (1984-87)
Jonathan Ogden*, UCLA, offensive tackle (1992-95)
Ron Rivera, California, linebacker (1980-83)
Pat Tillman, Arizona State, linebacker (1994-97)
Clarence Williams, Washington State, running back (1962-64)

First-time ballot members are indicated with an asterisk.


William "Lone Star" Dietz, Washington State (1915-17)

John Robinson, Southern California (1976-82, 1993-97)

Darryl Rogers, Arizona State (1980-84)



Friday, 12/26
Saturday, 12/20
Monday, 12/22
Tuesday, 12/23
Wednesday, 12/24
Saturday, 12/27
Monday, 12/29
Tuesday, 12/30
Wednesday, 12/31
Thursday, 1/1
Friday, 1/2
Saturday, 1/3
Sunday, 1/4
Monday, 1/12