Print and Go Back Visuals - ESPN Playbook [Print without images]

Sunday, December 16, 2012
Yearbook, Dec. 16: 1972 Dolphins go 14-0

By Patrick Dorsey

Dec. 16, 1972: This year, of course, is the 40th anniversary of the first and only NFL team to go undefeated and untied throughout the entire season.

This day, meanwhile, is the 40th anniversary of another (albeit less heralded) league first -- because, thanks to a 16-0 win over the Baltimore Colts at the Orange Bowl, the Miami Dolphins became the first team to finish a 14-game regular season unbeaten.

Their regular-season mark was surpassed in 2007, when the New England Patriots went 16-0. But, as a member or two of those '72 Dolphins might tell you, only one team won every game it played in the regular season and playoffs.

Mercury Morris of the Miami Dolphins
Mercury Morris, during the game.
Paul Warfield with the Miami Dolphins against the Baltimore Colts
Paul Warfield, catching the game's only touchdown.
Miami Dolphins coach Don Shula with Baltimore Colts coach John Sandusky
Don Shula, right, with Baltimore Colts coach John Sandusky.