Chargers free-agency tracker

With little salary-cap room, the San Diego Chargers were not expected to be one of the big spenders in the first week of free agency.

According to the NFL Players Association’s daily update of each team’s salary-cap report, the Chargers have $5,210,747 in cap space for the upcoming season. San Diego still has to sign the team’s draft picks and undrafted rookie free agents, along with saving enough money to add players during the season when guys go on injured reserve.

So the bottom line is do not expect the Chargers to land another big name in free agency like defensive tackle Vince Wilfork, if he’s released by the New England Patriots, unless San Diego releases a player currently on the roster to create enough cap room to add another deal.


RB Donald Brown

Status: Signed a three-year, $10 million contract with $4 million guaranteed. Brown will wear No. 34.

ILB Kavell Conner

Status: Signed a three-year, $2.7 million contract. Conner will wear No. 53.

QB Kellen Clemens

Status: Signed a two-year, $3 million contract. Clemons will serve as the backup to Philip Rivers.

CB Brandon Ghee

Status: Signed a two-year, $1.65 million deal.

TE/FB David Johnson

Status: Signed a two-year, $1.7 million deal. Johnson will wear No. 88.


ILB Donald Butler

Status: Re-signed to a seven-year, $52 million contract, with $11.15 million guaranteed.

CB Richard Marshall

Status: Re-signed to a one-year, $855,000 contract.

OL Chad Rinehart

Status: Re-signed to a two-year, $6 million contract, with $2 million guaranteed.

SS Darrell Stuckey

Status: Re-signed to a four-year, $7.6 million deal.

OLB Reggie Walker

Status: Re-signed to a two-year contract.


CB Derek Cox

Status: Signed a one-year, $780,000 contract with Minnesota.

CB Johnny Patrick

Status: Claimed off waivers by the New York Jets

DT Cam Thomas

Status: Signed a two-year, $4 million contract with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

QB: Charlie Whitehurst

Status: Signed a two-year, $4 million contract with the Tennessee Titans.


WR Seyi Ajirotutu, WR Danario Alexander, LB Bront Bird, RB Ronnie Brown, WR Lavelle Hawkins, OL Rich Ohrnberger, OL Steven Schilling.


QB: Philip Rivers, Kellen Clemens, Brad Sorensen

RB: Ryan Mathews, Danny Woodhead, Donald Brown, David Johnson, Zach Boren, Kerwynn Williams

WR: Eddie Royal, Malcom Floyd, Vincent Brown, Keenan Allen, Dontrelle Inman, Tobais Palmer

TE: Antonio Gates, Ladarius Green, John Phillips, Ryan Otten, Jake Byrne

OL: Nick Hardwick, King Dunlap, D.J. Fluker, Jeromey Clary, Chad Rinehart, Johnnie Troutman, Mike Harris, Nick McDonald, Willie Smith, Kenny Wiggins, Nick Becton

DL: Corey Liuget, Kendell Reyes, Sean Lissemore, Lawrence Guy, Damik Scafe, Kwame Geathers, Byron Jerideau

LB: Donald Butler, Jarret Johnson, Dwight Freeney, Larry English, Melvin Ingram, Kavell Conner, Jonas Mouton, Thomas Keiser, Manti Te’o, Terrell Manning, Tourek Williams, Cordarro Law

CB: Brandon Ghee, Richard Marshall, Shareece Wright, Crezdon Butler, Marcus Cromartie, Steve Williams, Brandon Jones

Safety: Eric Weddle, Darrell Stuckey, Marcus Gilchrist, Brandon Taylor, Jahleel Addae

Specialty: [K] Nick Novak, [P] Mike Scifres, [LS] Mike Windt