SEC players get their props at Awards Show

Posted by ESPN.com's Chris Low

The SEC was well represented among the winners at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday night.

Florida quarterback Tim Tebow captured his second straight Maxwell Award as college football's best all-around player. Tebow also won the Disney Spirit Award as the most inspirational player.

Alabama offensive tackle Andre Smith won the Outland Trophy as the nation's best interior lineman, and Alabama coach Nick Saban was named the Home Depot National Coach of the Year.

Tebow and Smith were also among five SEC players named Thursday as first-team selections to the Walter Camp All-America team. The others were Ole Miss offensive tackle Michael Oher, Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes and Tennessee safety Eric Berry.

Earning second-team honors were Florida receiver Percy Harvin, Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno, LSU offensive guard Herman Johnson, Alabama nose tackle Terrence Cody, Alabama safety Rashad Johnson and Kentucky cornerback Trevard Lindley.

Now for two small editorial comments: Berry was the best defensive back in the country and should have been the Jim Thorpe Award winner, and how is Alabama center Antoine Caldwell not at least a second-team All-American?