The SEC's All-Star teams

As a kid, the Major League Baseball All-Star Game was the only all-star game worth watching.

It’s still that way, especially when you get to watch the Home Run Derby the night earlier with your boys and see their wide-eyed amazement at how far those guys can hit the ball.

So in keeping with the spirit of tonight’s Midsummer Classic between the American and National leagues, I’ve chosen my football all-star teams for the SEC’s Eastern and Western divisions heading into the 2010 season.

What criteria did I use in picking the teams?

In short, if a group of coaches, media members and fans were all in a room, what players would be selected at each of the positions if you were playing a game that weekend against the other division?

I’m sure there won’t be any disagreements with my picks.



  • QB: John Brantley, Florida

  • RB: Washaun Ealey, Georgia

  • RB: Jeff Demps, Florida

  • WR: A.J. Green, Georgia

  • WR: Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina

  • TE: Luke Stocker, Tennessee

  • OL: Clint Boling, Georgia

  • OL: Carl Johnson, Florida

  • OL: Cordy Glenn, Georgia

  • OL: Stuart Hines, Kentucky

  • C: Mike Pouncey, Florida


  • DE: Cliff Matthews, South Carolina

  • DE: DeQuin Evans, Kentucky

  • DT: Omar Hunter, Florida

  • DT: Ladi Ajiboye, South Carolina

  • LB: Justin Houston, Georgia

  • LB: Chris Marve, Vanderbilt

  • LB: Danny Trevathan, Kentucky

  • CB: Janoris Jenkins, Florida

  • CB: Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina

  • S: Ahmad Black, Florida

  • S: Janzen Jackson, Tennessee




  • QB: Ryan Mallett, Arkansas

  • RB: Mark Ingram, Alabama

  • RB: Trent Richardson, Alabama

  • WR: Julio Jones, Alabama

  • WR: Darvin Adams, Auburn

  • TE: D.J. Williams, Arkansas

  • OL: Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State

  • OL: Lee Ziemba, Auburn

  • OL: Barrett Jones, Alabama

  • OL: DeMarcus Love, Arkansas

  • C: William Vlachos, Alabama


  • DE: Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State

  • DE: Marcell Dareus, Alabama

  • DT: Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss

  • DT: Drake Nevis, LSU

  • LB: Dont’a Hightower, Alabama

  • LB: Kelvin Sheppard, LSU

  • LB: Josh Bynes, Auburn

  • CB: Patrick Peterson, LSU

  • CB: Neiko Thorpe, Auburn

  • S: Johnny Brown, Ole Miss

  • S: Mark Barron, Alabama


  • K: Josh Jasper, LSU

  • P: Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss

  • KR: Jesse Grandy, Ole Miss

  • PR: Demond Washington, Auburn