Six SEC players on Thorpe list

Six SEC players, including Florida teammates Janoris Jenkins and Will Hill, are on the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

The Jim Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation's best defensive back, and it hasn't been an award that the SEC has dominated through the years. Tennessee safety Eric Berry was named the 2009 winner, but he was only the fourth SEC player in the last 20 years to win the award.

That said, the SEC should have a good chance to make it two in a row this season. In addition to Jenkins and Hill, the other four from the conference on the preseason watch list are LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson, Alabama safety Mark Barron, South Carolina cornerback Stephon Gilmore and Georgia cornerback Brandon Boykin.

The SEC, Big 12 and ACC all placed six players on the list, which included 35 players.

Here's the entire list:

Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska

Mark Barron, S, Alabama

Brandon Boykin, CB, Georgia

Curtis Brown, CB, Texas

Kendric Burney, CB, North Carolina

Brandon Burton, CB, Utah

Rashad Carmichael, CB, Virginia Tech

Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma

Chimdi Chekwa, CB, Ohio State

Don Decicco, S, Pittsburgh

Ras-I Dowling, CB, Virginia

Blake Gideon, S, Texas

Stephen Gilmore, CB, South Carolina

Brandon Harris, CB, Miami

Will Hill, S, Florida

Jermale Hines, S, Ohio State

Brandon Hogan, CB, West Virginia

Davon House, CB, New Mexico State

Duke Ihenacho, S, San Jose State

Jaiquwn Jarrett, S, Temple

Janoris Jenkins, CB, Florida

Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State

Tejay Johnson, S, TCU

Shiloh Keo, S, Idaho

Brian Lainhart, S, Kent State

DeAndre McDaniel, S, Clemson

Rahim Moore, S, UCLA

Johnny Patrick, CB, Louisville

Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU

Tyler Sash, S, Iowa

Robert Sands, S, West Virginia

Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado

Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona

Deunta Williams, S, North Carolina

Aaron Williams, CB, Texas