Recapping the SEC awards

It's been a banner year for SEC players and coaches on the national award circuit.

The big one is still to come when Auburn quarterback Cameron Newton is the overwhelming favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York City.

Here's a recap so far:

  • Maxwell Award (Best all-around player) -- Newton, Auburn

  • Davey O'Brien Award (Best quarterback) -- Newton, Auburn

  • Walter Camp Player of the Year Award -- Newton, Auburn

  • John Mackey Award (Best tight end) -- D.J. Williams, Arkansas

  • Disney Spirit Award (Most inspirational player) -- Williams, Arkansas

  • Chuck Bednarik Award (Best defensive player) -- Patrick Peterson, LSU

  • Jim Thorpe Award (Best defensive back) -- Peterson, LSU

  • Rotary Lombardi Award (Best lineman) -- Nick Fairley, Auburn

  • Ray Guy Award (Best punter) -- Chas Henry, Florida

  • CoSIDA/ESPN Academic All-American of the Year -- Greg McElroy, Alabama

  • Frank Broyles Award (best assistant coach) -- Gus Malzahn, Auburn

  • Home Depot Coach of the Year Award -- Gene Chizik, Auburn