Magic moments for the SEC's national champs

Posted by ESPN.com's Chris Low

The SEC has basked in its share of championship moments over the past 25 years.

My colleagues at ESPN.com, Ivan Maisel and Mark Schlabach, have put together a package on the magic moments of each national championship team during that span.

Who can forget Alabama's 13-0 run in 1992 and trouncing of Miami in the Sugar Bowl? The Crimson Tide, though, almost didn't make it past Mississippi State that season in Starkville.

No. 2 Alabama (9-0) took a 19-game winning streak into Mississippi State, took a 20-3 lead and then blew it. Trailing 21-20 in the fourth quarter, with a chorus of cowbells clanging on a cold Saturday night, the Tide had a third-and-7 at the Bulldogs' 40. Sophomore quarterback Jay Barker completed a pinpoint pass to Prince Wimbley for 24 yards to set up the go-ahead field goal. Alabama won 30-21 and later won its sixth AP national championship.

Other key moments include Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel recovering from a wicked beating in the regular-season loss to Florida State and the Gators routing the Seminoles in the Sugar Bowl rematch to win their first national title in 1996. There's also the Stoerner Stumble, which kept Tennessee unbeaten and propelled the Vols to the 1998 national title.