Outland Trophy watch list unveiled

The 2011 Outland Trophy watch list has been unveiled, and 11 SEC players were on the list.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's top interior lineman (offense or defense). Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration. Wisconsin offensive tackle Gabe Carimi was the 2010 winner.

The 2011 watch list includes 65 players, of which 16 were defensive tackles. The rest of the linemen were on offense.

Of the SEC's 11 players on the list, only two were defensive tackles -- Florida's Jaye Howard and Tennessee's Malik Jackson. The SEC's 11 representatives were second nationally to the Big Ten's 13.

Here's a complete list of the SEC players making the list:

  • OT Cordy Glenn, Georgia

  • DT Jaye Howard, Florida

  • DT Malik Jackson, Tennessee

  • C T.J. Johnson, South Carolina

  • OG/OT Barrett Jones, Alabama

  • C Ben Jones, Georgia

  • OT Xavier Nixon, Florida

  • OT Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss

  • C William Vlachos, Alabama

  • OG Larry Warford, Kentucky

  • OT Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina

The two guys not on this list that immediately come to mind are Mississippi State defensive tackles Fletcher Cox and Josh Boyd. Another one is Arkansas offensive guard Alvin Bailey.

I can also see junior college defensive tackles John Jenkins of Georgia, Maurice Couch of Tennessee and Robert Thomas of Arkansas all playing their way onto the list, not to mention Florida sophomore defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd.