Six from SEC on Walter Camp Award list

The 15th preseason watch list of the year was released today and, yet again, the SEC was well represented.

The Walter Camp Award, which is given to the nation’s player of the year each season, announced its watch list, and six SEC players made the cut. Three -- Alshon Jeffery, Marcus Lattimore and Robert Lester -- were 2010 Walter Camp Second-Team All-America selections.

Alabama and South Carolina both had two players on the list.

The SEC has won the award twice since 2007, with Cam Newton taking it last season and Darren McFadden winning it in 2007.

Here is the complete list of SEC players who made the watch list:

  • Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas, Jr.

  • Alshon Jeffery, WR, South Carolina, Jr.

  • Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina, So.

  • Robert Lester, DB, Alabama, Jr.

  • Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia, So.

  • Trent Richardson, RB, Alabama, Jr.