Seven from SEC up for Thorpe Award

October, 31, 2011
There's no shortage of outstanding defensive backs in the SEC, which was only confirmed Monday by the announcement of the 15 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Seven of the 15 were from the SEC, including the Alabama twosome of cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick and safety Mark Barron.

Also making the cut were LSU cornerback Morris Claiborne, Mississippi State cornerback Johnthan Banks, Georgia cornerback Brandon Boykin, Vanderbilt cornerback Casey Hayward and South Carolina "spur" safety Antonio Allen.

The Jim Thorpe Award is given annually to the top defensive back in college football. LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson won the award last season.

The most obvious omission from the SEC on this year's list of semifinalists is LSU's Tyrann Mathieu, who had been included on several early Heisman Trophy lists. Mathieu is tied for the SEC lead in fumbles forced and fumbles recovered. He was one of three LSU players suspended last week after testing positive for synthetic marijuana.

Here's the complete list of the 15 semifinalists:
  • Antonio Allen, South Carolina
  • David Amerson, North Carolina State
  • Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
  • Mark Barron, Alabama
  • Brandon Boykin, Georgia
  • Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
  • Morris Claiborne, LSU
  • Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
  • Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
  • Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
  • Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
  • Nigel Malone, Kansas State
  • Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
  • T.J. McDonald, USC
  • Chase Minnifield, Virginia

Chris Low | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?