SEC love in college football awards

The ballots are in and the finalists have been named for this year's awards in college football.

The winners will be announced during “The Home Depot College Football Awards Show” on Dec. 8 at 9pm ET on ESPN.

SEC players are up for seven major awards this year, including Alabama running back Trent Richardson, who is a semi-finalist for the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to the nation's best all-around player.

Richardson, who is also a candidate for the Doak Walker Award (best running back), leads the SEC with 1,380 rushing yards and 20 touchdowns. Against SEC opponents, Richardson is averaging 127.1 yards a game.

Alabama also led the country with four finalists.

Here are the other players up for awards:

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

  • Randy Bullock, Texas A&M

  • Dustin Hopkins, Florida St.

  • Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Maxwell Award (Best All-Around Player)

Maxwell Football Club Defensive Player of the Year (Chuck Bednarik Trophy)

  • Dont'a Hightower, Alabama

  • Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

  • Devon Still, Penn St.

Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)

  • David DeCastro, Stanford

  • Barrett Jones, Alabama

  • Devon Still, Penn St.

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)

  • David Amerson, NC State

  • Mark Barron, Alabama

  • Morris Claiborne, LSU

Doak Walker Award (Running Back)

Ray Guy Award (Punter)

  • Ryan Allen, LA Tech

  • Steven Clark, Auburn

  • Jackson Rice, Oregon