Les Miles a finalist for Coach of the Year

LSU coach Les Miles has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award. The honor is presented each year by the Football Writers Association of America.

Miles has his Tigers in the national championship after a record year in Baton Rouge, La. LSU is 13-0 for the first time and was able to maintain its umblemished record despite the handful of distractions Miles' team dealt with all season.

The Tigers never relinquished their No. 1 ranking and will be competing for their second national championship with under Miles.

The other finalists are Clemson's Dabo Swinney, Kansas State's Bill Snyder, Michigan's Brady Hoke and Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 15 after balloting by the entire FWAA membership. The FWAA and the Fiesta Bowl will host a special reception on Jan. 8, in New Orleans to honor the winner and present him with the trophy.