Three from SEC make Davey O'Brien list

October, 22, 2012
Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Georgia's Aaron Murray have been chosen among the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best college quarterback.

The semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien national selection committee with the fan vote accounting for 5 percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The Big 12 had the most quarterbacks on the list with five. The SEC was second with three.

Below is the complete list:

Matt Barkley, USC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech
Seth Doege, Texas Tech
Nick Florence, Baylor
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Collin Klein, Kansas State
EJ Manuel, Florida State
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Marcus Mariota, Oregon
AJ McCarron, Alabama
Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Geno Smith, West Virginia

Chris Low | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?