SEC players up for awards

October, 29, 2012
The 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's most outstanding defensive player were announced Monday, and eight were from the SEC.

No. 1 Alabama had two players on the list -- linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner. The others from the SEC making the cut were Mississippi State cornerback Johnthan Banks, South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, Florida safety Matt Elam, Georgia outside linebacker Jarvis Jones, LSU defensive end Sam Montgomery and Texas A&M defensive end Damontre Moore.

The 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Maxwell Award as the collegiate player of the year were also announced Monday, and four from the SEC were on that list -- Florida running back Mike Gillislee, Georgia outside linebacker Jarvis Jones, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron.

Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 19, and a second round of voting will take place.

Chris Low | email

College Football



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Wednesday, 12/24
Saturday, 12/20
Monday, 12/22
Tuesday, 12/23
Friday, 12/26
Saturday, 12/27
Monday, 12/29
Tuesday, 12/30
Wednesday, 12/31
Thursday, 1/1
Friday, 1/2
Saturday, 1/3
Sunday, 1/4
Monday, 1/12