Clowney and Smith named to Hendricks list

Another preseason watch list is out, and the SEC found its way to yet again get involved.

This time, it's the Ted Hendricks Award that is showing the conference some love, as South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney and Arkansas' Chris Smith made the list of 22 players. The award is given annually to the nation's best defensive end. Last year, Clowney became the first sophomore to win the award and was the first player from the SEC to win it since Georgia's David Pollack won it in 2004 and 2003.

During the 2012 season, Clowney proved to be one of the nation's best overall players and was a unanimous All-American selection. He finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy race after setting the South Carolina single-season record for sacks (13.0) and tackles for loss (23.5). He tied for third in the nation in sacks and tied for second in tackles for loss.

As for Smith, he returns as the SEC's top sack man not named Jadeveon Clowney. He finished last season with 9.5 sacks and 13 tackles for loss. Smith might not have the clout that Clowney possesses, but he certainly knows how to create chaos for opposing quarterbacks. He had 12 quarterback hurries last season, broke up four passes and forced a fumble. It'll be fun watching him try to improve on his 2012 season this fall.