Murray, Spear finalists for Wuerffel Trophy

Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray and Vanderbilt kicker Carey Spear are among the 12 finalists for the 2013 Wuerffel Trophy, which is given annually to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Murray, the SEC's all-time leading passer, was also a finalist last year. He takes part in many off-the-field community projects, including Read Across America, assisting with wheelchair football championships and Countdown to Kickoff, which helped raise money and awareness for cancer research.

Spear, who's 28-of-34 on field-goal attempts the last two seasons, also earned a spot on the SEC academic honor roll in 2013. For the last two years, Spear has actively contributed to community outreach projects in Nashville, guided by Crosspoint Church. Those projects include mentoring women struggling with addiction and adopt-a-block cleanup efforts.

The last SEC player to win the Wuerffel Trophy was Alabama's Barrett Jones in 2011.