Print and Go Back SEC [Print without images]

Tuesday, June 22, 2010
SEC fills Nagurski, Outland watch lists

By Adam Rittenberg

The Football Writers Association of America on Monday published its preseason watch lists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (nation's top defensive player) and the Outland Trophy (nation's top interior lineman). As expected, the SEC was well represented on both lists.

Here's a look:


Note: LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey was the last SEC player to win the Nagurski Trophy, doing so in 2007. Dorsey and Georgia's Champ Bailey (1998) are the two Outland Trophy recipients from the SEC.


Note: Alabama offensive tackle Andre Smith was the last SEC player to win the Outland Trophy, doing so in 2008. Besides Smith, 10 others from the SEC have won the trophy.