Print and Go Back SEC [Print without images]

Wednesday, June 8, 2011
SEC tandems on Pony Express Watch List

By Edward Aschoff

When you think of top college football tandems of all-time, it's hard not to mention SMU's "Pony Express" backfield that featured Eric Dickerson and Craig James.

Well, the dynamic duo has teamed up once again, this time to award college football's best tandem with the inaugural "Pony Express Award."

According to a press release, the award will "look at two- and three-player tandems from across the nation and ultimately honor the combination whose work ethic, desire, on- and off-field leadership and playmaking ability best fuel their team."

The award will be "voted on by a blue ribbon panel of experts that will form the award's board of directors" and the winner will be announced at the end of the 2011 regular season.

The 48 tandems on the "Watch List" include 12 from the SEC. Alabama leads the way with three, while Georgia and South Carolina both have two.

Here is a look at the SEC tandems:

Alabama: RB Trent Richardson, WR Marquise Maze
Alabama: LB Courtney Upshaw, LB Dont'a Hightower, LB Nico Johnson
Alabama: S Mark Barron, S Robert Lester
Arkansas: WR Greg Childs, WR Joe Adams, WR Jarius Wright
Auburn: RB Michael Dyer, RB Onterio McCalebb
Florida: RB Jeff Demps, RB/WR Chris Rainey
Georgia: OG Cordy Glenn, C Ben Jones
Georgia: K Blair Walsh, P Drew Butler
Kentucky: LB Ronnie Sneed, LB Danny Trevathan
LSU: QB Jordan Jefferson, WR Russell Shepard
South Carolina: QB Stephen Garcia, RB Marcus Lattimore, WR Alshon Jeffery
South Carolina: DE Devin Taylor, DT Melvin Ingram