Print and Go Back SEC [Print without images]

Monday, July 18, 2011
Picking the SEC champion at media days

By staff

The SEC football media days kick off Wednesday in Hoover, Ala., and we'll know by Friday who the media attending are picking this season in the SEC.

Here's a bit of advice for the fans: Don't get too bent out of shape if your team isn't the pick. In fact, if history holds true, that's probably a good thing.

Since league expansion in 1992, only four times have the media gotten it right at SEC media days -- 1994 and 1995 with Florida winning both times, 2007 with LSU and 2008 with Florida.

Until the media correctly picked LSU as the SEC champion in 2007, the media had whiffed on the league champion for 11 straight years. Not only that, but none of the 11 teams picked to win the title at the media days during that span even made it to the SEC championship game.

Here's a look back:

Year Projected Champion How The Projected Champion Fared Eventual Champion
1992 Florida Lost In SEC Championship Game Alabama
1993 Alabama Lost In SEC Championship Game Florida
1994 Florida Won SEC Championship Game
1995 Florida Won SEC Championship Game
1996 Tennessee 2nd In East Florida
1997 Florida Tied For 2nd In East Tennessee
1998 Florida 2nd In East Tennessee
1999 Tennessee 2nd In East Alabama
2000 Alabama Tied For 5th In West Florida
2001 Florida 2nd In East LSU
2002 Tennessee 3rd In East Georgia
2003 Auburn 3rd In West LSU
2004 Georgia 2nd In East Auburn
2005 Tennessee 5th In East Georgia
2006 Auburn Tied For 2nd In West Florida
2007 LSU Won SEC Championship Game
2008 Florida Won SEC Championship Game
2009 Florida Lost In SEC Championship Game Alabama
2010 Alabama 4th In The West Auburn